Call Us Today: 1-800-923-3456

Administrative Review

Review by the Board of Immigration Appeals (“BIA”)

The Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA) is the appellate body designated to review decisions from the immigration court and, in some instances, from the Department of Homeland Security. The BIA is part of the Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR), and the EOIR is within the U.S. Department of Justice.

Jurisdiction of the BIA
Court Review of BIA or Immigration Judge Decision
Review by the Attorney General (AG)
Review by the AAO/Regional Commissioner
Review by OCAHO
Review by BALCA

The BIA has appellate jurisdiction under 8 CFR Section 1003.1(b) to hear the following matters:

  1. Final decisions of Immigration Judges in exclusion and deportation cases, except length of time of Voluntary Departure.
  2. Final decisions of Immigration Judges in removal cases, except: (a) where the sole ground is the length of time of voluntary departure; (b) when there is an in absentia order in deportation or exclusion; (c) when there is an in absentia order in removal proceedings.
  3. Decisions on cancellation of removal applications in removal proceedings, adjustment of status and decisions on former INA Section 212(c) applications raised in deportation and exclusion proceedings, but not decisions before the District Director.
  4. Decisions involving fines, penalties, and mitigation of them.
  5. Decisions for all preference petitions (except employment based and orphan petitions) and revalidation and revocation of those petitions. However, jurisdiction extends only to discretionary revocation and the BIA has no authority to review automatic revocation. The BIA has no authority to hear appeals of a beneficiary. It can only hear appeals of the petitioners. However, some courts have held that the beneficiary has standing to sue.
  6. Decisions on waivers of inadmissibility for nonimmigrants under INA section 212(d)(3).
  7. Determinations relating to bond and detention in removal, except for persons deemed inadmissible or subject to mandatory detention (unless application of mandatory detention is challenged) and determination relating to bond and detention in deportation but not exclusion cases.
  8. Determination to continue detention beyond removal period made by an immigration judge.
  9. Decisions relating to asylum, withholding of removal, CAT claims or Immigration Judge’s decision of Temporary Protected Status.
  10. Decisions by Immigration Judge relating to the LIFE Act.
  11. The BIA will entertain an interlocutory appeal where a significant issue is raised that affects the administration of the immigration laws.

Court Review, of BIA or IJ Decision

If the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA) writes a reasoned decision, the Court’s review is of the BIA’s decision, not the decision of the Immigration Judge. But when the BIA summarily adopts an Immigration Judge’s decision, the Courts will review the Immigration Judge’s decision as if it were the Board’s decision.

Review is sought in the Circuit Court of Appeals having jurisdiction over the location of the Immigration Judge’s decision.

Review by the Attorney General (AG)

The AG may review a BIA decision upon request from either the BIA, the Director of Homeland Security, or the AG himself. The AG, unlike the Board, engages in de novo review on all aspects of the case.

The BIA’s decision remains binding on the DHS and IJs while certification is pending before the AG.

Review by the AAO/Regional Commissioner

The Associate Commissioner for Examinations, through the Administrative Appeals Office (AAO), has jurisdiction concerning decisions on:

  1. Bond breaches.
  2. I-140 preference petitions, except when the denial of the petition is based upon the lack of a labor certification or perm.
  3. Indochinese applications for adjustment of status.
  4. Revoking approved petitions.
  5. Applications for permission to reapply for admission into the US after deportation or removal.
  6. Applications for waiver of certain grounds of excludability INA Sections 212(h) and (i).
  7. E waivers.
  8. Petitions for temporary workers or trainee (H and L visa) and Fiances.
  9. Petitions for approval of schools or the decision of the IJ to withdraw the approval of schools.
  10. Applications for re-entry permits.
  11. Applications for refugee travel documents.
  12. Application of adjustment of status of certain diplomats.
  13. Application of certain LPR to non-immigrant status.
  14. Applications related to naturalization.
  15. Applications by organizations to be listed for free service.
  16. Amerasian petitions.
  17. Revocation of non-immigrant petitions.
  18. Orphan petitions.
  19. Invalidation of temporary labor certifications from Guam.
  20. Applications concerning temporary or permanent residence under IRCA.
  21. Petitions for special immigrant juveniles.
  22. Applications for adjustment based upon the bona fide marriage exception in INA section 245(e) concerning 2 year foreign residency. Legalization Appeals Unit (LAU) reviews legalization appeals.

Review by OCAHO

The Office of Chief Administrative Hearing Officer (OCAHO) oversees the administrative law judge (ALJ) proceedings in unfair immigration related employment practices: employer sanctions cases, and now fine proceedings.

There are no administrative appeals over unfair immigration related employment practice cases and no appeal of right over employer sanctions cases. In employer sanctions cases, the Chief Administrative Hearing Officer may conduct a review if he/she deems it appropriate even if a party has not made a request for review. Also, any party may file a request for review within 10 days of the ALJ’s decision requesting a review of legal issues.

Review by BALCA

The Board of Alien Labor Certification Appeals (BALCA) was established to review labor certification denials. It is also authorized to hear appeals of denials (to healthcare facilities) or appeals of approvals (by interested third parties) of attestations of healthcare facilities in regard to H-1A nurses.

To speak with an Immigration attorney, call us toll free at 1–800–923–3456 or contact us online to discuss your legal matter today.

FREE CONSULTATION

  • captcha
Thank you for your help and good job
, Oct 17, 2017
U guy's r amazing LAWYER'S! I will always recommend u to all my friends and family members. Thank u for going above and beyond with my case. Awesomeness!!!!!!
, Oct 6, 2016
I would highly recommend these attorneys to all my friends and family!!! Best of the Best!!!!
, Mar 2, 2016
Google
Joe Delgado was the best attorney anyone could ever have! I had a very complicated case but he took it and we won!!
, Sep 28, 2017
Very good service I recommend.
, Mar 23, 2018
Very professional and timely precised on the whole process on my case. My whole process went as lawyer Arlindo explained it to me and no delays whatsoever!!!
, Jul 20, 2016
Google
I found my attorney, Mr. Kessous, to be highly professional, knowledgeable, friendly and effective. He was highly responsive to my questions and concerns and easy to work with, and achieved the desired settlement for me in regard to my traffic ticket. If I were in the same situation all over again, I would choose to work with him without hesitation, and expect that if I were to face a similar situation in the foreseeable future, I would contact him. I would also provide his name with the highest recommendation to others in the area for such problems. (I also found his assistant, Gabriela Vargas, to be quite responsive and helpful as well.) Thanks again for all of your help!
, Jan 25, 2017
Very fast response it seems they know what they are doing, will keep you updated after my case hearing.
, Apr 10, 2018
Google
Thank you so much.you did an excellent job without you l won’t be smiling.
, Apr 22, 2018
Gracias x hacer todo lo posible dios los bendiga
, Aug 3, 2016
Good service
, Apr 18, 2018
I was satisfied, and the service was very good, my lawyer was very professional and did a great job.
, Feb 3, 2017
Very satisfied
, Aug 3, 2016
Best lawyer I ever had
, Nov 9, 2017
Yo ELSA, estoy muy agradecida y muy feliz de haber escogido como mi abogado. Es un buen y excelente preparado e inteligente ABOGADO. Trabaja muy profesional y consciente igual todo su personal que trabaja en su oficina. Me ayudó mucho con mi Caso. Lo recomiendo a cualquiera persona que necesita sus servicios de un buen ABOGADO.
, Feb 17, 2017
EL ABOGADO GARCES Y SU EQUIPO SIEMPRE ESTÁN LISTOS PARA DEFENDER LOS CASOS DE LA COMUNIDAD LATNA CON HONESTIDAD Y GRAN PROFESIONALISMO.
, Jan 5, 2017
Facebook
Professional, smart and most importantly, effective. Great attorneys that help in every aspect of the legal process. The office staff was always very helpful and polite, while the legal professionals were direct and extremely efficient. I highly recommend this office to anyone seeking advice or council.
, Feb 16, 2016
Google
Great Experience. Wouldn't hesitate to give you a call back when i mess up again. Great Service, Great Lawyer. Couldnt ask for more. Thank You Guys Once Again.
, Jul 23, 2016
Hi, it was a very good experience !! I appreciate all the things the Lawyer did for me, he won the case, thank you so much again, I am 100% satisfied!
, Mar 29, 2017
Thanks, BIG help
, Apr 9, 2018
Great representation.
, Nov 3, 2017
The best In Plainfield, Thanks Garces+Grabler+Lebrocq for your help! Beating my case and my wife case.
, Jun 15, 2016
Very satisfied withow my case was handled
, Oct 17, 2016
Thank you very much you guys were helpful compassionate in my situation I really appreciate the ladys in Perth Amboy are very nice I recently send it a friend and she has the same opinion.
, May 24, 2016
Saved my life twice!!
, Jul 13, 2016
Thank you very much for all your help and great service!
, Mar 22, 2017
very satisfied with the outcome. You did a very good job
, Dec 26, 2016
Excellent service. Very respected law firm. Will use again and definitely recommend
, Oct 12, 2016
Great expletive with Esq Arindo. He is practical, honest, and thorough. I really appreciate his help.
, Jun 16, 2016
Todo muy bien
, Jul 21, 2016
Extraordinary, very satisfied
, Oct 11, 2016
I was very satisfied with the services provided . Graces and Grabler handled my case in a excellent manner.
, Feb 18, 2018
Great attorney , Pat Vella . Got all points dropped from my record . I owe this man 100xs over ! Thank you !
, Oct 21, 2016
Great practice they always get the job done for a reasonable price.
, Feb 3, 2017
Estuvo bien gracias muchas gracias
, Jul 12, 2017
thank you guys for representing me!
, Jun 17, 2016
El mejor abogado muy eficaz
, Jan 26, 2017
I would love to sincerely thank you for your patience and assurance during the whole period. It was very easy to get hold of you even on the phone and you always explained things to the best of your ability to me. I would quickly and highly recommend you to anyone who may have a case like the one i had. Thank you.
, Jul 7, 2017
The best lawyers and Their excellent assistants
, Jun 14, 2016
Estoy feliz por el trabajo que hisieron, gracias por todo.
, Oct 5, 2017
Thank you Mr. Lawrence LeBrocq, I have no words for the amount of appreciation I have for what you've just done.
, May 9, 2017
G.G.L... Are the best in the business...
, Jan 26, 2017
Very professional and know what they're doing which is hard to find nowadays. Arlindo Araujo was very clear, precise, and on point!!!
, Jul 20, 2016
Great service,would recommend to anybody!
, Jul 10, 2017
I was happy with your service and professionalism with handling my case. I was treated with respect and always told the truth and not half of a story or what I wanted to hear. My team was awesome thank you
, Jul 14, 2017
Buenos profesionales, excelente trabajo....
, Jul 10, 2017
Johnathan Kessous did a fantastic job handling my case. I hope i never need his expertise again...but if I do, he would be my first choice for legal representation. I had gotten a speeding ticket on the NJTPK going 84 in a 55 which resulted in a state trooper issuing me a 5 point ticket. Johnathan got it reduced down to zero points... just a fine.
, Oct 4, 2017
Everyone in the office was very nice and pleasing. I had a sense of comfort when i walked into the door.
, Jan 9, 2018
I can honestly state that JONATHAN is an excellant negotiator and timely attorney, whom prepares you for the worst and gets you the best.
, Jun 12, 2017
Son exelentes abogados muy honestos y muy responsables con sus clientes y sobretodo muy amables poreso yo tengo mucha confianza en ellos y. Poreso los he recomendado ampliamente con otras personas
, Oct 22, 2017
The Lawyers were very friendly and knowledgeable. If I need a lawyer in the future, they would my go to attorneys.
, Jun 13, 2016
Yo estoy muy satisfecha con su servicio gracias abogados de G G. Lo volviera a contratar todas lss veces k los nesecite por su rapides y su eficiencia. Son muy dedicados a sis clientes Gracias
, Jun 19, 2017
They are wonderful
, Apr 18, 2018
Son exelentes y recomentables
, Sep 4, 2015
Sarita Núñez vas very efficient. She did everything she could to have the case resolved
, Mar 2, 2017
Google
Good job
, Jun 15, 2016
Lo mejor de lo mejor como abogados para mi caso de compensación de trabajo gracias a tan buen equipo en general y sus secretarias tambien que se esperan en ayudarte gracias de nuevo
, Jan 31, 2018
Staff was very helpful and explained the case as it went along.
, Jul 21, 2016
Like to thank u for your profession and with my traffic ticket
, Jul 24, 2016
Very good i will recommend your services to other people
, Mar 2, 2017
Bill Grabler handled several comp case's for me including permanent worker's comp. He did a fantastic job.
, Jul 21, 2016
Arlindo and Gisela were extremely helpful. They told us exactly what to do, what we could expect and gave us options for working with our situation. Thank you!
, Oct 26, 2017
I was very pleased with the service from your firm, especially my attorney Allen, he always returned mu calls and was very courteous.
, Jul 18, 2017
Estoi satifecha por supervisio grasia a
, May 16, 2016
Very good
, May 21, 2016
Great service and support from start to end.
, Jun 15, 2016
Very please with law firm
, Apr 2, 2017
The representation this firm did to me was above and beyond what I expected to receive. Especially Mr. Grabler who was extremely professionals. I was very proud to have him as my lawyer. For this reason I recommend this firm to everybody.
, Jul 19, 2016
I would like to say thank you for all your help you've giving me.
, May 24, 2016
Muy buen servicio al cliente y buenos abogados
, Jul 27, 2016
Google
Excellent service.
, Apr 1, 2017
Outstanding service very professional attorneys thumbs up all the way
, Feb 4, 2017
It was a slow process..but MR.Kotchta and Evelyn were freaking great..i cant say any more about them to..they always answered my questions in a professional manner while i was being an pain in the butt with them..👍👍👍👍
, Sep 7, 2016
Google
They were very effective in getting my ticket and fines knocked down to lesser offence. I appreciate all their help.
, Jul 15, 2017
Best of the best. Thanks you
, Aug 7, 2017
My case is still a work in progress. I will say that my Lawyer here has done more for me pre court than I had expected. If you need a lawyer for anything you can find someone here to help you.
, Oct 26, 2017
Google
He helped me fight a battle that I put off for years. Thank you so much for your services.
, Aug 31, 2016
Excellent service John K gets the job done in the courtroom
, Aug 16, 2017
Jonathan was brilliant!!! He is an expert in the field of DUI's. He is patient, well prepared and first and foremost he was concerned for the well-being of me and my family... Thanks so much for your representation!!!!
, Jun 29, 2016
My uncle had some problems with meals at a Monmouth Count assisted living home. The home charged over $5,000 per month and he was not being offered food that he liked on many occasions and his complaints did not resolve the issue. I called Garces & Grabler on his behalf and they sent an attorney to the home to first speak with my uncle, then speak with the director. Within a few day, his dietary needs were met. Everything was resolved amicably and the law firm charged, in my opinion, a very reasonable fee for their services.
, Jul 12, 2016
Google
Excelent.
, Apr 6, 2018
Really good and reliable service This is my second time using your services and I always come out wining.
, Oct 21, 2016
Mr. Lebroq is an excellent Attorney. The office staff has always been prompt , respectful and helpful. I highly recommend this firm.
, Oct 10, 2015
Jonathan A Kessous did an outstanding job in handling my case. He was able to get the most serious charge and several other charges against me dropped and my fine greatly reduced. I was most impressed with his professionalism.competence and the timely manner in which he responded to all my questions and concerns. This demonstrated to me that I was a priority and not just a client!
, Jun 13, 2016
Robert White III, Esq. was professional and efficient in every step of the process. From dealing with my Worker's Comp insurance to making sure I got the best care with a skilled neurosurgeon and making sure my case was handled fairly by a judge and the court system. I would definitely recommend Garces, Grabler and LeBrocq for anyone who was in need of representation for such matters.
, Mar 28, 2017
Great service all the way around
, Feb 16, 2018
Google
Excelente
, May 23, 2016
Very happy with the services provided - was dealing with Arlindo and his assistant Gisela. My case was dealt with in a timely manner, with no errors, and all advice was spot on. Will definitely use them again in the future.
, Apr 3, 2017
Google
Sarita was great, she sealed with every detail of the process. i recommend this firm
, Jun 22, 2017
This firm is everything a law firm should be in this diversified world we live in today. The entire staff & attorneys are always on top of your legal matter. You can rest & trust that you are going to receive the best legal advice possible. The staff makes you feel at home with them. They are always extremely personable & knowledgeable about whatever issue they are handling for you. I love them & would highly recommend them to everyone & anyone.
, Dec 7, 2017
Lawrence and his team are A+++ when it comes to all aspects of law.
, Jun 17, 2016
Google
100% satisfaction, very good. I like to recommend.
, Jun 16, 2016
I would highly recommend this law firm to anyone. The service was epicable. Very thorough, efficient and friendly. It was a pleasure having you represent me.
, Jul 8, 2017
Great job..to mr. Allen g. Still rolling out of bed. Thx.
, Mar 19, 2018
I recently had gotten a ticket that was worth 5 points. I choose this firm because they were local to where the incident occurred. I was very nervous and unsure of the possible outcomes. They were so patient and reassuring with my case. Everything went smoothly and quickly and I was very happy with the final results! I would highly recommend them!
, Feb 25, 2016
Google
Excellent
, Apr 15, 2018
Less then a year the lawyer from GGL resolved my case ,,, it is the second time they help me !!!
, Sep 28, 2017
MaryanN and Jasmine both very helpful and professional. Jonathan Kessous very professional. Would recommend the firm.
, Aug 5, 2016
Muy buenos abogados se los recomiendo
, Jun 8, 2017
Great service everytime.
, Aug 18, 2016